DC’s Stargirl Renewed For Season 2; Will Be CW Exclusive DC’s Stargirl Renewed For Season 2; Will Be CW Exclusive
DC's Stargirl has been renewed for Season 2 on The CW which will now be the show's exclusive broadcast home. DC’s Stargirl Renewed For Season 2; Will Be CW Exclusive

DC’s Stargirl will continue to soar — but starting next year, it will be exclusive to The CW and its streaming platforms, according to trade reports.

After fantastic summer ratings, it may be no surprise that the choice was made to renew the Brec Bassinger-starring series. The show has also had a fantastic response, especially from younger viewers which The CW would crave. With this news, we are assuming that a crossover with The CW’s other series is inevitable.

This addition might also mean some changes to the network’s previously-announced lineup, so stay tuned. You can read all of KSiteTV’s Stargirl coverage here.

With this, and several DC Universe shows moving to or shared with other homes, we are definitely curious what’s next for the streaming realm of DC Universe.

DC’S STARGIRL follows high school sophomore Courtney Whitmore (Brec Bassinger) as she inspires an unlikely group of young heroes to stop the villains of the past. This new drama reimagines Stargirl and the very first superhero team, the Justice Society of America, in an unpredictable series.

The series focuses on the character that started creator Geoff Johns’ career as a comic book writer when he created her in 1999, lovingly inspired by his late sister who was killed in a 1996 plane crash.

Geoff Johns (“Arrow,” “Batwoman,” “The Flash,” “Titans”) is the showrunner and executive produces DC’S STARGIRL with Melissa Carter (“Queen Sugar”), who serves as co-showrunner, as well as Greg Berlanti, Sarah Schechter and Greg Beeman. Based on the characters from DC created by Geoff Johns, DC’S STARGIRL is produced by Berlanti Productions and Mad Ghost Productions in association with Warner Bros. Television. DC’S STARGIRL stars Brec Bassinger, Luke Wilson, Amy Smart, Trae Romano, Cameron Gellman, Yvette Monreal, Anjelika Washington, Meg DeLacy, Neil Jackson, Jake Austin Walker, Christopher James Baker and Hunter Sansone.


Craig Byrne, Editor-In-Chief

KSiteTV Editor-In-Chief Craig Byrne has been writing about TV on the internet since 1995. He is also the author of several published books, including Smallville: The Visual Guide and the show's Official Companions for Seasons 4-7.