No announcement yet.

Smallville in Religion class

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Smallville in Religion class

Just thought I'd share. I'm a religion teacher in a Catholic high school outside Philly. Today I decided to use the S6 episode "subterranean" in my class because we had been talking about illegal immigration. The kids really seemed to enjoy it. Not all of them had seen the show or knew what it was (though some did) but I think we may have a few tuning in to see the finale!

I wonder if I could do more with Smallville...

Im from Philly!!! I wish i got to watch Smallville during Class!! It tackles alot of issues!! Keep it up!

Comment

Originally posted by wdonovan3
      Just thought I'd share. I'm a religion teacher in a Catholic high school outside Philly. Today I decided to use the S6 episode "subterranean" in my class because we had been talking about illegal immigration. The kids really seemed to enjoy it. Not all of them had seen the show or knew what it was (though some did) but I think we may have a few tuning in to see the finale!

My first reaction to this question was "no", given that you are, I assume (and maybe I'm assuming too much) teaching religon from a Catholic POV. I don't see Smallville being conductive to that; religon, at least in recent years, has been treated by the show more or less as superstition. Not something I think the Catholic Church would go along with....
      On the other hand, back in the day churches used episodes of the orginal Star Trek series, and Star Trek-The Next Generation to discuss morality, despite the latter's rather harsh treatment of organized religon. So maybe you can. Certaily Clark, Oliver, Lana and others have other the years faced moral decisions and made choices that not everyone would agree with (Chloe murdered a man in an 8th season episode I just watched, and of course Oliver murdered Lex--or at least he and everyone else thinks he did).