No announcement yet.

Feral Children

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Feral Children

This story reminds me a little bit of a case I studied while in school. Her real name is not know, but in published studies she is referred to as Genie. She was discovered in a house in 1970 in California. She was 13 and had been tied up and hidden from the world for over 10 years. She was strapped to a potty chair, never allowed to speak, never spoken to and never allowed outside. When discovered she was wild, had no language, had severly stunted growth and could barely walk. A truly sad, yet facinating story. Just wanted to clairfy what I meant by facinating...facinating from a scientific stand point as far as how much "humanity" could she regain after 10 years living like that. Could she be rehabilitated? Learn to speak?

There are other stories like this from around the world...I wonder if that is where Kripke got his inspiration.
    Last edited by chole_fan; 01-15-2009, 08:03 PM.

Thats creepy, and sad.

He probably was inspired in a way.

Comment

ya i watched this show on TLC it was like a marathon back during new years weekend and they had stories of feral children. like being raised by dogs and acting like dogs and stuff.

think they had that one too. the parents had her locked in this room and a cage and blocked out the windows and no one knew that another person was living there. i think she wound up killing someone didnt she? but ya she was impossible to control and was really hard to gain her trust.

Comment

Wow, really? She killed someone?
        Man, that sucks for the person.

Comment

well these people are kind of driven crazy by making them into "animals". and like kids raised by wolves they might attack people and like bit their legs or something and they would seriously find fish and rabbits and stuff and just eat them raw.